Tags

Have you ever heard someone ask, “When you die and go to the gates of Heaven and an angel meets you to ask why he should let you in, what will you say?” Or, have you ever thought, “If my name just makes it into the book of Life, I’d be happy to get only hay, straw, and stubble.”  These are statements I’ve heard various people say over the years and I’ve always thought them odd but never had a good reasoning why.

I don’t recall ever making the statements above but I have definitely struggled with wondering if I’m really saved or if I’m good enough or if I’ve done enough to earn my way in or if I’ve messed up enough to lose it.  Well, those days are over!!

In Luke 15, we find the “Parable of the Prodigal Son” which I’ve also heard called the “Parable of the Perfect Father.”  Both of those titles seem fitting to the story but it’s the second one that brings new perspective to the parable for me.   I’m sure we all know the story, or we can google it quickly, so I’ll skip to the fun part.

Luke 15: 17-20 (NIV)

When he came to his senses, he said, “How many of my father’s hired servants have food to spare, and here I am starving to death! I will set out and go back to my father and say to him: Father, I have sinned against heaven and against you.  I am no longer worthy to be called your son; make me like one of your hired servants.”  So he got up and went to his father.  But while he was still a long way off, his father saw him and was filled with compassion for him; he ran to his son, threw his arms around him and kissed him.

Isn’t that awesome?!  The son saw himself in the flesh…all his mistakes and failures.  He was ready to offer himself as a servant to his father because he thought he wasn’t worthy of being a son. BUT, the father didn’t see someone unworthy of love, he saw his son!  My Father will not have an angel  meet me at the gates of Heaven to ask me why I should be allowed entrance.  Absolutely not!  My Father is coming personally to take me home (1 Thessalonians 4) and there will be a great celebration when all His children are home.

Sometimes you may be tempted to see yourself according to your actions, thoughts, and feelings but don’t fall for it! 🙂  The truest thing about you is what God says about you and He says you are:

  1. An heir to the throne (Galatians 3)
  2. Made in His image (Genesis 1 and Romans 8)
  3. Dearly loved (Ephesians 5 and many other places)

I’m choosing this day to believe what God says about me no matter how good it is! 😉  If you’ve given your life to God and you’ve accepted Jesus’ sacrifice for you, you are His child and He will never see you as a servant or as unworthy no matter how you (or others) see you.

