Tags

, , , ,

I’ve been wanting to try making a zucchini lasagna but I’ve been hesitant of the extra work involved and concerned that it would turn out too soggy.  Tonight I took the plunge and I’m glad I did!

I looked at several recipes online and used bits from each. Below are links to the ones I drew inspiration from as well as the recipe I used. Enjoy!

Skinny Taste
Dashing Dish
What Runs Lori

Zucchini Lasagna

1.25 lb ground turkey
2 large cloves garlic, minced
1/2 onion, diced
28 oz can crushed tomatoes
2 Tbsp chopped fresh basil
4 medium zucchini, sliced 1/8″ thick
15 oz full fat ricotta
16 oz full fat mozzarella cheese, shredded
1/4 cup Parmesan cheese
1 large egg
~1/2 tsp each of onion powder, garlic powder, and season salt
1/4 tsp chipotle pepper

1. Wash zucchini and slice lengthwise at 1/8″ thickness. I used a mandoline which made it easy.
2. Line up zucchini on greased pans, sprinkle with salt, and baked at 425 degrees for 5 minutes on each side. Once baked, layer zucchini on a plate with papertowels between each layer. The goal is to remove some moisture to keep your lasagna from being soggy.  I did steps 1 and 2 earlier in the day and stored the zucchini in the fridge.
3. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
4. In a medium skillet, cook and crumble the ground turkey.  Add onions, garlic, and seasonings.  Simmer until all liquid has evaporated.
5. Add tomatoes and basil and simmer  while you prepare the ricotta layer. Do not add extra water, the sauce should be thick.
6. In a separate bowl, mix ricotta cheese, Parmesan cheese, and egg. Stir well.
7. In a 9×12 greased casserole dish, layer the following:  meat sauce, zucchini, ricotta cheese mixture, then mozzarella cheese. Repeat layers until all your ingredients are used up (2 or 3 layers depending on how many zucchini slices you have).
8. Cover with greased foil (to keep the cheese from sticking).
9. Bake for 45 minutes covered at 375 degrees, then uncovered for 15 minutes.
10. Let stand about 5 – 10 minutes before serving to keep all the cheese from sliding out of the zucchini layers.

image

Let me know if you try it and what you think. My whole family liked

it, well, except the four year old.  That doesn’t count though because I’m still working to convince him that vegetables and fruit are even edible. :/

That’s all for now. Have a great week!

