Tags

, , , ,

I live in an interesting part of the country weather-wise. Any given day can be a 30 degree difference from the day before or after.  We can have a tornado and an earthquake in the morning and then end the day with beautiful 80 degrees and sunshine.

Last week we had a small hail storm come through right over our neighborhood and it did some major damage. It’s not the first time but it’s the worst one I’ve seen in the eight years I’ve lived here. We lost windows in our house and two of our three cars have been deemed a total loss. Our third car wasn’t totaled but it is the only car that has a busted windshield and can’t be driven right now. All that being said, we are safe and all is fixable.

Unfortunately our insurance won’t and can’t replace the garden and trees we recently planted. We waited to plant until we thought that we were past the last frost date but low and behold we have had two more freezes since we planted and one of those days was a record-breaking freeze in May!

My awesome husband has covered multiple plants multiple times in an attempt to protect what I value. He has stabilized the trees over and over as the wires have broken and bent from wind and hail.  All this garden business was my idea but he’s worked so much harder than I have on it. The first freeze did some damage to the marigold border I planted but all else seemed well. Then the hail storm came through and busted up some of the covers over the plants. I was pretty bummed looking at all the damage and wondered if all was lost.  But then, yesterday I was removing covers from the plants after the strange May freeze and saw new green beans coming up from the ground where I had planted seeds!! In the midst of everything going on here with destruction and replacement, it was so exciting to see new life!

Whatever your day brings and whatever obstacles you are facing, remember that God is still the God of restoration!  He renews, He restores, and He will not leave you!!

image

Finished product…or so I thought.

image

Isn’t it beautiful?!

image

image

image

Shopping is always a plus side. 🙂

image

image

It wasn’t totaled so we will be able to fix it. Yea!

image

image

image

image

My blueberries are growing! Can’t wait to taste them!

image

Two greenbean plants pushing through the soil. I can’t explain how excited I am!

Have a great weekend!

