Tags

, , , ,

My zucchini are growing so beautifully!  I check on them several times a day and I’m always so surprised at how much they’ve grown from visit to visit. Most mornings I have multiple beautiful yellow flowers. I’ve been using a Q-tip to spread pollen from male to female flowers just in case the pollinators aren’t doing their job.  😉 All is well…or so I thought.  :/

Last night I was watering my plants when I noticed several squash beetles running up the netting posts.  That’s right…SQUASH BEETLES! I had read about these before I planted my garden but didn’t realize they were already taking over my plants.  Last night is the first time I’ve seen any and I’ve already chopped up at least ten of them since then. I also removed four patches of eggs.  Unfortunately some of the eggs slipped out of my fingers before I could squish them.

I’ve been reading up on how to get rid of these pests and the verdict isn’t giving me much hope. I’ve read it’s hard to destroy them even with chemicals but I don’t want to use those. If anyone has any tips on how to get rid of them and prevent further infestation, please let me know.  I’ll be so bummed if I lose my beautiful crop!

image

image

