Tags

,

Have you ever been listening to a song and found that you wanted to put it on repeat and just keep listening? Maybe it had a catchy tune or funny lyrics, but whatever the reason, you just wanted it on a running loop. Well that happens to me regularly and it’s normally due to lyrics the Lord is really wanting to use to penetrate my heart. Lately it’s been the song “I will not be moved.”

As I was listening to it for the umpteenth time, I was reminded of a section of the Bible a friend had read to me recently. Here it is:

Ephesians chapter 6 –
The Armor of God
10 Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. 11 Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. 12 For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. 13 Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. 14 Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, 15 and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. 16 In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. 17 Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.

Do you see that? Do you see how often He said to STAND? I’m the type of person who likes to be constantly progressing. I make lists and take great pleasure if checking items off. I like to be productive, always moving forward, always producing. The concept of simply standing almost frustrates me to think about because it seems so…wasted…unproductive. But I know that my desire to strive for more isn’t always healthy or ideal so I want to be flexible to the instruction of my Father, my Lord.

I’m not sure why this message in particular has been on my heart lately. I’m not aware of any specific obstacles pressing against me at the moment but I know my Father prepares me with what I need because He knows what’s coming and He’s a good Father. He also allows me to be a conduit for His love and provision so I’m sharing with all of you out there in case anyone else needs encouragement to STAND. Maybe there isn’t even an obstacle pressing me, maybe it’s just that God knows I need to learn to rest. I guess stopping long enough to just stand is a good first start in sitting to rest. 🙂

Is anyone else with me in thinking that resting and listening can be harder than just fighting through? I’d much rather work than listen (haha, who all knows me well and can attest to that?!) but I also know that’s a good strategy to wear yourself out. So, here’s to listening, resting, and growing in relationship with Him!

